Quality or Quantity?

One of my strongest resolutions when this year began was to read more books, non-academic, self-development books. This was going well for while, especially because I rounded up a class early this year, giving me a lot time on my hands. When September came, however, I started to feel some sort of pressure, because in as much as I had been reading consistently, I wasn’t moving “fast” enough, if I were to meet my target. So somehow, unconsciously, I started to increase my reading pace.

Yeah, you guessed right. I was learning nothing!

Dear you, the point of this anecdote is to get you and I to really check ourselves. Do we set goals and targets to tick boxes or to actually learn, grow and be better? When I realised that I was only fooling myself by reading at that pace, I slowed down and checked my motives. Turns out, I wanted to have a tall stack of books to show off as my conquest in my end-of-year, my-year-in-pictures video (Oh, please. Don’t judge me. Don’t we all want to be perceived as intentional?)

The truth is, we owe it to ourselves, those we love and humanity at large to grow and become better versions of ourselves with each year that passes. In all of this, however, please don’t get lost in numbers that you forget to actually take in what it is you’re learning

Hembafan from MANI